033 - 22817479

Academic Council

The Academic Council is solely responsible for all academic matters, such as, framing of academic policies, approval of courses, regulations and syllabi, etc. The Council involves faculty at all levels and also experts from outside, including representatives of the university and the government

Management Representatives

1. Ms. Rita Bibra - Chief Admistrator
2. Dr. Deepali Singhee - Principal
3. Dr. Jayanta Nath Mukhopadhyaya, Director - Department of Management, JDBI

External Experts

4. Mrs. Meenakshi Bangur – Director, Digjam Ltd 
5. Rev. Dr. J. Father Felix Raj S. J - Principal & Secretary, St. Xavier's College (Autonomous)
6. Mr. Pradip Kumar Chopra -Institute of Leadership, Entrepreneurship and Development (ILEAD)
7. Dr. Anjan Raichowdhuri - Adjunct Faculty, IIT –Patna and IIM- Calcutta and Former Professor, IIM-Calcutta
8. Mr. Pradip Kumar Sil – Senior Partner, Sanderson & Morgan - Solicitors, Advocates & Notaries 

University Nominee

9. Prof. Amitava Sarkar - Professor, Mechanical Engineering, Jadavpur University 
10. Prof. Subir Mukhapadhyay - Head, Geological Sciences, Jadavpur University
11. Dr. Gautam Maity - Head, Library and Information Sciences, Jadavpur University

Head of all the College Departments

12. Mrs. Samita Gupta – Dept. of Textile Science, Clothing & Fashion Studies 
13. Mrs. Amita Dutt - Dept. of Interior Designing
14. Ms. Rachana Kejriwal - Dept. of Commerce 
15. Mr. Tapobrata Ray - Dept. of Management (Academic In-charge)
16. Ms. Sreyoshi Chatterjee -Dept. of Human Development
17. Ms. Damanjeet Kaur -Dept. of Food Science & Nutrition Management

Senior Faculty Members

18. Ms. Krishnakali Bhattacharyya – Dept. of Human Development 
19. Mrs. A.S. Manjulakshmi - Dept. of Commerce
20. Mrs. Keya Ghosh - Dept. of Commerce
21. Mr. Tapobrata Ray - Dept. of Management
22. Mr. Sumanta Bhattacharya - Dept. of Management

Faculty Nominated by the Principal as Member Secretary

23. Mrs. Smita Parekh – Head, Dept. of Home Science

Untitled Document
© J D Birla Institute
Dr. Jayanta Nath Mukhopadhyaya (Director)
Education: PhD - Jadavpur University; PGDM - IIM Calcutta; B.Tech - IIT-BHU
Core Area: Corporate Finance; Mergers & Acquisitions; Business Valuation

Dr. Jayanta Nath Mukhopadhyaya (JNM) is a Mechanical engineer from IIT-BHU, Varanasi, MBA from IIM Calcutta and PhD in Economics from Jadavpur University. Dr JNM was founding faculty, Professor of Finance and Dean of the leading business school at Kolkata viz., Globsyn Business School. Before coming to academics, he had 17 years of professional experience in industry with leading companies like BOC India, IBP - Balmer Lawrie, Alghanim - one of the largest companies in Kuwait, SREI etc. He was Senior Vice President and National Head of SREI Capital Markets (A registered Merchant Banker with SEBI).

He has 12 years experience in full time teaching and also has been a visiting faculty at IIM Calcutta, IIM Rohtak and IIM Ranchi for several years. His research papers have been presented at International conferences and many of his papers have been published in refereed journals. He was also involved in executing a project under the aegis of UGC with two senior faculty members of Jadavpur University.

He has been a speaker at various seminars organized by various Chambers of Commerce, CII, Institute of Company Secretaries etc. Dr. Mukhopadhyaya has conducted workshops for Tata Motors, M Junction, Lafarge, McNally Bharat, IBM, Cognizant Technologies, Peerless Securities and Titan Industries etc.